FRIENDLY REMINDER ABOUT HUNTING REPORTS/TOPICS... Read more... ×
Sign in to follow this  
ScottGrush

20 ga. ruff hunters

ScottGrush

Am trying to procure a new to me 20ga. O/U for my next great grouse(ruffed Greg  :D ) gun.

What factory shotshells are you 20 ga. grousers using?

I have heard some rumblings about these so called baby magnums and know some guys using them for ruffs, basically shoving a 12 ga. payload thru 20 ga. tubes. Any thoughts?

WPG Gizmo

B&P is what I was using in my 20Ga when I had one and they are what I use in my 28Ga now.

7.5 or 8 work great no need to get crazy with a load just use 3/4 to 1 oz and you are fine

Rex Hoppie
Yellow ones.

WindyHills

Yes, yellow is best I've found.  

I have a few blue boxes (federal I think) and found some reasonably cheap yellow boxes (fiocchi) that I have been using for a few years with some success.

Phred

I would rather use a 20 gauge payload in  a 12 gauge tube than be the other way around.  B & P 7 1/2 or 8's aren generally what I shoot at grouse.

Phred

Jim McCann

I use mostly Kent upland 20s in 7 1/2, but lately I've found a few flats of Win AA 7 1/2 loads I felt I just had to have.

Jim

12ette
Shoot mostly, Gamebore 2.5"  7/8oz.

caleb

I think I used five boxes of Rio Game Loads with 1oz of #8s this fall.  They worked well, but the powder burned dirty and they smelled a little funny.

Later in the season I used a couple boxes of the B&P Legend loads with an ounce of plated  7.5 shot.  The recoil was noticeably greater than the Rios, but they smelled better and burned more cleanly.

They were of course all yellow, so they worked well.

DennisMcFeely
Am trying to procure a new to me 20ga. O/U

What are you after?

Skybuster
I use factory loads; Federal w/#7.5.  I ran out of my usual 1oz loads 1165 fps, and finished the season with 7/8 oz.  I think the Federal quality and 7/8 oz is enough for grouse given the average range those birds are taken.

fourtrax57