Sign in to follow this  
sxsneubaum

End of a humbling and educational season

sxsneubaum

In January I started this field trial season with many high hopes.  My '16 season was fairly successful, I placed Web in three separate amateur stakes.  Web ran well at the National Amateur and the National Open.  He ran with a pro the first part of the fall, had a win and a couple other placements. 

This spring season started in January, we hunted and trained all winter.  Had good first two series and get to the third and the wheels would fall off, usually Web would implode.  In order to try and fix the issue I sent him with the pro again.  First trial out he won, Web earned his FC title. 

I'm new to trialing and knew that was having an effect.  We trained all summer.  Because of my class schedule I was only able to run three trials this fall.  First one, looked and felt good, but no joy, we did win the Guns Award and to me that was quite the honor.  Second trial we went out on a passed bird on the second bird in the first series.  It was a strong downwind but to be honest it was my handling that was the issue.  This past weekend we finished the trial, but no joy.  A bit was him but more was my handling.  I'm still learning. 

Web is going to the National Open Championship.  But we didn't qualify this year for the National Amateur. 

When he gets back from Minnesota we will hunt hard, train hard, and I'm going to hit the handling books and try to handle this dog the way he deserves.  Let's see what '18 brings. 

MoSpaniels

Don Bramwell once told me that "one has to get kicked out of 50 trials before he knows what he is really doing". Patience is hard to dial into the equation but

If you are enjoying it, and I think you are, Just keep learning and asking questions and training with others and putting it all together in your own mind.

Has your Pro had opportunity to watch you run and does he have any recommendations or helpful hints?