FRIENDLY REMINDER ABOUT HUNTING REPORTS/TOPICS... Read more... ×
Sign in to follow this  
topdog1961

Camper advice

topdog1961

I’ve got zero experience with a camper, but have been contemplating dipping my toe into post retirement lake life early by putting a permanent camper on a quiet family campground on a nice NW Indiana all sports lake that I like to fish. We typically rent a home on this lake for one week a summer for $1,100 and have the grandkids up, they love it.  And I tent camp solo at this campground a few times a year when the fishing is especially good.  A friend of a friend has a camper he mentioned a few months ago that he would sell for only $2,500.  It’s a 30ft hitch tow Starcraft and he keeps it sitting by his home under a large tarp, which is good because he lives in a wooded area.  He claimed it is in great shape inside and out, and everything works perfect.  I declined at the time, but yesterday I saw the tarp was off and it was sitting out in the open, and it does look very nice indeed. I called him up and asked if it was still for sale, and he said he put some new tires on it and was not pursuing selling it, but we could borrow it any time because he didn’t use it much at all.  Then he said to let him think about it, he may let it go. I asked what year it is, and he said he’d have to look at the title but thinks it’s late 90s.  

My concern with older campers is roof leaks.  I asked about the roof and he hesitated, saying that it had had a slight one, no damage was done, and it was fixed because he flex sealed it.  That’s the waterproofing stuff advertised with all the hype on the infomercials.  But if it’s as nice on the inside as the outside as he claims, and everything works, that’s a nice price for a relatively big camper.  Does anyone have any experience with sealing camper roofs, or general advice for a newbie looking for a lower cost camper? It has to be lower cost to be justified by the amount we will initially be able to use it.