FRIENDLY REMINDER ABOUT HUNTING REPORTS/TOPICS... Read more... ×
Sign in to follow this  
SODAKer

Pressure Washer CAT Pump

SODAKer

The old man gave me his older pressure washer that has a CAT pump 2sfx30ggz.  I connected the intake hose and powered up the engine (Honda 6.5 engine). The water pressure did not change whilst coming through the output valve. Checked for blocks in the gun and all was good. The old man told me he thought the pump was shot. Anyways I checked on replacement pumps and they aren't cheap. My question for those who have experience with these things is, it worthwhile to rebuild the pump, replace the pump with another catpump or replace with a different less expensive pump? I have no experience with these. 

Thanks in advance. 

bobman

there is a bypass regulator valve that allows water to flow thru the pump and keep it cool and the pistons wet when the trigger on the gun is closed. take it apart and verify it’s not frozen open and is closing properly 

if it’s stuck open the pump won’t build any pressure

if that’s ok carefully pull the head off and disassemble it ( videos on youtube) if the seals are worn replace them

before you replace the seals make sure the crank shaft and con rods are moving correctly and  drain the oil looking for broken metal chips 

if the crank and rods are ok it’s worth putting a seal kit in

if not junk it and replace the pump

SODAKer

Appreciate the reply Bobman. 

Flush

Those CAT pumps are nice, and if you can fix it (following Bobman's good advice) that would be ideal.