2018 UJ SUMMER SILENT AUCTION HAS LAUNCHED Read more... ×
Brad Eden

First Lipoma Removal for Cash

Brad Eden

I'm a bit of a veteran when it comes to dealing with benign fatty tumors or Lipomas on my dogs. The late great Jake was covered and had some extensive surgery to remove them, resulting in infections and a tough recuperation. 

A while back  I noticed a small lump on Cash's left leg after he was cut/shaved. (He is 7 years old) Smaller than an acorn, between what would be his wrist and elbow, closer to the wrist. It grew to the size of a small flattish walnut in a couple months. Tested to be a fatty tumor but in an unusual spot. I decided to have it removed before it grew any larger. Actually had second thoughts and cancelled the first surgery appointment. I was concerned about the location in an area with almost no muscle just bone, tendons and nerves. The last thing I wanted was to compromise his activity, since he is a physical specimen and the most athletic dog I have ever owned. But it's position was such that it might lead to problems when hunting, getting abrased and caught on stuff. 

It wasnt something I could ignore so he went under the knife yesterday. I spoke with my vet about my concerns and she said she would take a good look once open and decide what to do. Everything went well, the lump was pliable, and encased or encapsulated as we had hoped, and was "popped/scooped" out. He was a little loopy and whining under his breath when I got him home in the afternoon, likely due to the anesthesia, but settled down, good appetite, no limping. I have a cone of shame but he is such a good boy and hasn't even licked the bandage on the leg, so will only use if he is left alone for a long period.