FRIENDLY REMINDER ABOUT HUNTING REPORTS/TOPICS... Read more... ×
Windrider

Lacrosse Uplander opinions

Windrider

I’ve been wearing 16” bean Maine hunting boots for several years for woodcock and snipe hunting and I’ve enjoyed them with a couple of issues I’d like to get past.

1). The world is not flat so I need more aggressive tread, but not so aggressive that mud collects on the boot like a Bob sole.  I look like George Jetson walking Astro on some of the hills between the hunting spots.

2)   When sliding (see #1), the soft  sole is prone to being cut by rocks imbedded in the clay or mud.  Shoe goop repairs, while waterproof, do not aid in my quest for  good traction.

3). I like the height, but wouldn’t mind going a bit shorter so I could tuck them under my brush pants.  Brush pants between my body and the honey locust trees would be an outcome I’d look favorably on.

So,  anyone use the Lacrosse Uplander or another style boot you would recommend.

Note:  I have long skinny feet and have never been able to use rubber Wellies or Much boots without significant blisters.  Lace up boots are a necessity.

E.Young

I have tried the Lacrosse and Muck and Bogs and find the Bogs to be the best for me. They've been pretty bullet-proof, too. The main drawback of Muck and Lacrosse for me, actually, was that they were so bulky I absolutely could NOT drive my truck with them on - they wouldn't fit under the dash, over the pedals, and in front of the seat. I do have a larger foot, size 13, and drive a Tacoma - neither helping my cause. 

duluthUPLAND
20 hours ago, Windrider said:

Note:  I have long skinny feet and have never been able to use rubber Wellies or Much boots without significant blisters.  Lace up boots are a necessity.