FRIENDLY REMINDER ABOUT HUNTING REPORTS/TOPICS... Read more... ×
fishvik

Sometimes it's not the fishing.

fishvik

I was asked to host a fishing trip for our local TU club at a reservoir south of Pocatello. I've been fishing Daniels for over twenty years and it is known for big rainbows. IDF&G manages it for trophy fish, so it is all artificial lures and flies that are barbless hooks and no fish can be kept under 20". You fish it out of small boats, float-tubes, or pontoon boats. We caught a lot of 'bows between 10 and 20 inches and these fish "have shoulders", hard hitting and aerial. But the best part of the place is what you see while you're floating around. Bald Eagles, White Pelicans, Double-crested Cormorants, Great Blue Herons, a Common Loon, numerous species of ducks, grebes, hawks and shorebirds. On the banks about 20 head of mule deer were feeding along with a cow moose and her twin calves. On the drive home I saw Hungarian Partridge, sharptailed grouse and pheasants in the farm fields around the reservoir. I was a great day

mccuha

The cormorants around here have become a problem eating a lot of fish. On santee lake they have had a somewhat season for them after duck season.  Just recently the cormorants just wouldn’t leave   My lease in ms has catfish ponds on them and the owner has a permit to shoot them any time.  I’ve seen them there by the hundreds to over a thousand. They really work those ponds over as well if not pushed out.  Glad you had a great trip. Sounds like you had a blast. 

fishvik
3 hours ago, mccuha said: