2019 UJ SUMMER SILENT AUCTION IS LIVE Read more... ×
NECarson

Thoughts on Field Trials? (for those that don't)

NECarson

So I'm relatively new to bird dogs... Currently own dogs 3, 4, & 5. They've all been Pointers. All from field trial breeding. 

My first dog was a hunting dog only, steady to flush. I thought I'd never trial. I saw a value, but not to me. None of my friends with dogs trialed... 

I just lost dog #2, I tried a few shoot to retrieve trials, but he ran too big. I had fun, but the venue wasn't right for him. So we tried a judgment ceases at flush stake at an American Field trial. Took second. And I was hooked. 

It's actually a lot like how I hunt on the prairies, just minus the killing. 

I've currently got a broke dog, and will probably break the young one I have as well, both are with the intention of being trial dogs. But they'll still hunt wild birds as much as they would if they didn't trial. 

And they have all been in the house pets. 

So I guess my question for the people who don't trial (or maybe have a negative impression of them) is "what shapes your perception of trials or trial dogs"? 

john mcg

Nick--I only ran in one trial when Tucker was 9 months old.

He won btw when run with an adult because the puppy stakes were filled up.

🙂 Sorry--I was quite proud of him.

It was fun, but I didn't much like all the hollering and the way I saw some dogs treated.

If you guys run one down at the 'Grounds' I would consider giving Max a whirl.

I reckon its different all over.

Don Steese