topdog1961

&@!@# Raccoon.

topdog1961

I’ve been driving a minimum 125 miles each work day for 24 years, and until yesterday had managed to avoid animal collisions that caused damage.  Each morning drive is in the dark, and given my two jobs, many returns are also in the dark.  I’m ever diligent, and vary my route to avoid high deer traffic areas/times.  I’ve had some close calls with live deer, and one dark morning ran over an entire large deer lying sideways in a dip in the road without doing damage to my 04 Hyundai Elantra GT.  The small car just jumped right over it, I think I went airborne for a moment.  But my current 2013 Mazda 3 has a plastic fascia that goes close to the ground.  I guess they are trying to squeeze out the last .1 MPG, or maybe it’s a styling thing, but newer cars don’t take much to do thousands of dollars in damage.  

About 5:00am I was cruising at highway speed on a rural state route.  A section had a deep drainage ditch close to the road (this area once was the Black Swamp) and the farmer had not been maintaining the roadside well.  Anyway, a unseen suicidal raccoon came tearing out of the passenger side tall grass at top speed right in front of me.  I didn’t even have time to touch the brakes.  He almost made it across, when crunch, my driver’s side tires took him out.  I pulled over at the first side road, and could look through the front of the car to see the tire.  That rascally raccoon busted my fascia, knocked out a panel on it, and took out the inner wheel well.  I’d say at least $2,000 damage.  I stopped in the twilight on my way home and collected pieces of my car, in case the body shop can reuse them.  Fortunately State Farm comprehensive coverage is zero deductible.  But it’s a shame that many modern cars can’t survive a raccoon, groundhog, or opossum strike.  And there are lots of them, as there seems to be a dead critter lying about every mile along my route.

7131404E-013C-42AD-83AF-62D4677E68B4.jpeg