REGISTERING FOR MEMBERSHIP ON UPLAND JOURNAL Read more... ×
Sign in to follow this  
Scar

Help me pick my best from this past season

Scar

I'm doing this on another board I post on and I thought I'd copy it over here because I value your opinions.  I've been going through my photos from this year and trying to identify the best of them. I thought I might ask for your help.

First a couple words about how I take my pictures. I'm not a professional photographer. In fact, my wife says I'm strongly right-brained and without a meaningful sense of style or taste. I know what I like in a photograph and I try to repeat that equation. I take a LOT of pictures and cull out the best of them before sharing. I've been taught some basic composition and lighting by virtue of a photography class I took in high school. I've read articles and books about photography. It's a skill like any other so practice makes for improvement.

For what I want to do I've divided my pictures into five broad categories. 1) Tailgate shots 2) Still Life shots 3) Scenic Shots, 4) Portrait shots and 5) Action shots. There is more than a little overlap in the categories but I need a meaningful way to break them up.   Most, but not all, of categories 1-4 are taken with my iPhone X. Almost all of the category 5 shots are screen captures from footage I shoot on my GoPro 7. Shooting frequently with both cameras has helped me have a better understanding of what each will do. I store my photos on Google Photos and use their editing tools (which are fantastic).