REGISTERING FOR MEMBERSHIP ON UPLAND JOURNAL Read more... ×
bullseyebill

First time truck owner

bullseyebill

I'm getting ready to purchase my first truck.  Have had Subaru's, Lexus SUV, and an Audi AllRoad.  It looks like its going to be a 2018 Colorado LT or remote possibility of a 2018 GMC Canyon SRT. Requirement is Extended Cab, Short bed, Tow/Haul mode and Trailer Package.  THe ultimate purpose is the ability to pull a small trailer.  Tow capability of either is about 7000 lbs.  The reason for the mid-size truck is it has to fit in the garage.

I'm new to trucks so looking for things I should know or gotcha's.  Anybody out there with the models I'm looking at?

Thanks

Cindy

Locher

if you're serious about towing, open the drivers door of the truck and look at the sticker that says maximum allowable payload.  That max payload is the total of all weight in your truck that didn't come out of the factory.  People, dogs, topper, etc.  Also included in that payload is tongue weight of the trailer.  Tongue weight is usually 10-12% of gross weight of trailer.  Most people will max out on payload way before you max out on tow capacity.  You have to look at both.  They are both legal limits.

NVChukarChaser

Define a small trailer. Being under gunned when pulling a trailer is no fun and the payload does become a factor faster than one thinks. 

Snipeaholic

Don't know if the tow package includes a trailer brake actuator. Even a "small trailer" can push you along depending on weight. My line is my truck will pull most anything, I just worry if it will stop it safely.

pa'tridge hunters

Once you own a pick-up truck you'll be hooked for life. You'll wonder how you've managed all these years without one. Enjoy!

bobman

Give up bed length and get the crew cab version you will hate an extended cab after a while

henryrski

What Bobman said.

Clueless1
13 hours ago, bobman said:

Give up bed length and get the crew cab version you will hate an extended cab after a while