REGISTERING FOR MEMBERSHIP ON UPLAND JOURNAL Read more... ×
Sign in to follow this  
WAGinVA

Instinct Question

WAGinVA

So I got a Instinct to pair with my 320.  My problem is that the Instinct routinely shows the location of the dogs 90 to 180 degrees off, the 320 is showing the correct direction and the distance on both match.  Any suggestions?  I have updated software on both.

Jim Vander

I noticed similar when I first set mine up , I think its a timing issue between the collar updates and the watch refreshing the data. When you say routinely showing 90-180 degrees off I assume its not always off by so much? If you watch do you see it update correctly? I have no definite technical knowledge of the link between them and how it works but I have played with settings a lot and led me to this conclusion.  I believe there is a polling time between the watch and and the handheld and that updates between these cycles don't get displayed until next polling cycle. This almost has to be the case to provide good battery life, if the connection and updates were constant the radios in both units would be on and transmitting and receiving constantly.  I increased my update rate for the dog collar on the alpha to 5 seconds and it solved the problem for the most part.  I assume  the 320 has the same function. hope this helps

WAGinVA

Thanks Jim.  I already had my update rate set to 5 sec.  I contacted Garmin and they suggested unpairing and repairing the two.  I did this and it seemed to help for a couple of hours.  Hunted all day yesterday and for a extended time (hours) the Instinct read the same distance as the Astro but a significantly different direction than the Astro.  Since it is updating the distance I do not think it is a radio connection problem.  Back to the drawing board, contacting Garmin again this am.

grouse28

Probably a update timing issue. Check your handheld for update rate.