REGISTERING FOR MEMBERSHIP ON UPLAND JOURNAL Read more... ×
DennisMcFeely

Favorite Fly Fishing magazine?

DennisMcFeely

I’m a novice fly fisherman and was thinking of subscribing to a magazine or two.  Any favorites?

MAArcher

Fly tyer

rufftrout
10 minutes ago, DennisMcFeely said:

I’m a novice fly fisherman and was thinking of subscribing to a magazine or two.  Any favorites?

The Drake     not a how to magazine   just awesome writing  about the essence of the sport.  Only Fly Fishing magazine I read any more     Fly Tyer is good for sure 

WyomingArt

https://www.flyfisherman.com/   Don't know if you would consider on line, though this link may be a good place to start. 

Chukarman

There are a couple good omes. The ones I like best are Fly Fishing the Southwest, Fly Fishing the Northwest and California Fly Fisher. IMO, the best way for. novice to learn to fly fish is to join a club.

FlyChamps
25 minutes ago, Chukarman said:

IMO, the best way for. novice to learn to fly fish is to join a club.

I'm in total agreement with joining a club where you can find someone to instruct you in casting and fishing.  It was the single best thing I did when I started fly fishing.

You may be able to find a casting instructor or local club on the Fly Fishers International website here.  By the way a member here, Pat Berry, is the president and CEO of FFI.

Welcome to another addiction. 

atticus

As mentioned, The Drake. It can be a bit ‘hipster’ sometimes but it’s good!

Grousehunter

The Drake and Fly Fusion

DennisMcFeely
1 hour ago, Chukarman said:IMO, the best way for. novice to learn to fly fish is to join a club.

I’m working on that too Mike, good advice. Recently I spent a day of on-stream instruction with Cathy and Barry Beck in PA as well.  

atticus

As an aside, I found the Orvis guide to fly fishing good And helpful videos to watch. There are 2 seasons on YouTube. Also Rosenbouer’s book on beginning fly fishing was terrific and a good resource.