Softer/ Quieter Calls?

I learned how to use my double reed Zink ATM Mallard call fairly well in the last two years.  Seems like it only sounds right when blown full blast and it's pretty damn loud. Are there types of calls that are a bit softer for when ducks are in close or so that you don't ring off the trees louder than hell? 

Clueless1

I'm very new to the whole thing but was told the wood calls are generally not as loud.  Hope someone can verify because I have the same problem. 

34 minutes ago, Clueless1 said:

I'm very new to the whole thing but was told the wood calls are generally not as loud.  Hope someone can verify because I have the same problem. 

I'm also pretty new to calling.  I've had good luck with my Zink call at getting distant birds attention, just feel like it's gotta be unnatural when they get close. 

Brdhntr47

Try to find a Glynn Scobey call. I used his wood goose and duck calls for years and had great success with them all over the country. Even used them a couple times in Argentina. Glynn died a number of years ago and his calls are very collectible. Best bet would be to look on EBay.

I primarily use a single reed call. They can all be called softer. It just takes practice at it. A double reed for me is way easier to call soft. Once the birds are working.  If I feel the need to call I’ll just quack at them softly but I tend to do more soft feeding chatter.  I also use my 7 in 1 call and make that nasally drake call.   Just keep fooling with it.  Doing a lot of long cadences to me is not necessary when they are close. Just keep it simple. 

Windrider

Cup your hand over the call you are used to blowing/aim the bell down

or

buy an all wood “timber” call

or

If a single reed put a new reed in it, start with a longer reed and tune it to the sound you want.*