Tell me about pressure canners and canning venison

topdog1961

A customer gave us a quart of canned venison recently and it was fantastic in my wife’s noodle recipe. We are also short on freezer space for the buck I recently shot, so I’m considering learning to can. I have no experience. Recommendations for pressure canners, recipes, things to look out for?

Are jars, lids, and canners in short supply, like many things are?  

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• topdog1961

• Birdcountry70

• Okhotnik

• bobman

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

The weights work fine, I simply prefer a gauge because I can see the needle where it is at and tell if its going down or up when I am adjusting the heat. I use to can with a weight and did fine.

I can a lot. Don't really can just meat, I can soup, stew and chilli with meat. There are vegetables in what I can and they don't fall apart. I can with peas, carrots, patatoes, onions and beans. The

I’m hearing popping noises, so that must be good. I got the $80 canner and it came right up to pressure. It has a similar “floating valve” that is designed to pop up and seal once a small amount of pr

Posted Images

Finding components is going to be tough...

Canning venison is quite easy.  We cold pack in jars with nothing but a little salt.  I want to say 75 minutes at 11 pounds, but don't quote me on that.

It really is easy and delicious.  Pheasant and grouse is also very good, but with birds, I sear and brown a bit in a fry pan first and use chicken broth to fill air space.

Good luck!

Its pretty easy to do. Ive been canning deer, elk, antelope, trout, salmon, tuna , birds etc for years. Suggest getting the largest canner available. I like presto brand

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Presto-Aluminum-23-Quart-Pressure-Canner-and-Cooker/2625289?wmlspartner=wlpa&selectedSellerId=0

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Ball-Glass-Mason-Jars-with-Lids-Bands-Regular-Mouth-32-oz-12-Count/14234956