New year, new challenge

Jalinkly

Interested in trying my hand at freshwater fly fishing. My grown daughter would like to as well. Fishing us not new to us but fly fishing is.  Looking for recommendations for a quality but relatively inexpensive rod reel combo for us to learn the basics.  Thanks for any information.  

shoot-straight

I don't think you can go wrong with the Clearwater series from or is (UJ sponsor). I have many. I got a redington classic trout for my wife. I like That too. Slower actions are better for newbies I think. 

FlyChamps

I'm a self-taught fly caster and it's ugly so I recommend that before buying any equipment both of you get some casting lessons. Every instructor I know has loaner equipment for use during lessons and they can assist you in choosing a rod weight that is suitable for the fishing you plan to do.  Here's a link to the listing of the Fly Fishers International certified instructors FFI Certified Casting Instructors .

For beginning equipment the Orvis Clearwater, Orvis Encounter, Echo Base and Redington Path are all good kits including rod, reel and line.  In fact, these are all better than "beginner equipment" and I would be happy to use them long-term.

Geoff Roznak

Let's start out by asking what you are going to be fishing for, and what you think your budget is.

There are lots of great options out there, but having an idea what you're after, and what you want to spend will help a lot.

bntsetter