ATbuckhunter

I picked up my new pup on the 9th (9 weeks) and when I play with her she mostly wants to put my fingers in her mouth and chew on them. she also loves to chew on what ever clothes im wearing as well. Now its pretty soft and rarely hurts, but im wondering if I should work to stop it because when she does get excited it can get a little harder. Or am I over thinking it too much? 

Sorry if its a dumb question, im new to owning a dog

marysburg

It's not unusual behaviour, and sometimes aggravating.  If you give her something like a toy to hold in her mouth, she won't be mouthing your hands.  Road hockey puck. deer antler,  or small bumper might be something she would like, and safe for her to have.  Remember that a tired puppy is a good puppy, and wear her out running in the yard.  This mouthing stage doesn't last long. 

Hal Standish

Well good for you. Of course we have no idea what you have there, fish or fowl. If this finger chewing is the only issue you have over the next 12 months you will have it made.  Best of fortunes with your new pup.

Hal

Brad Eden

As mentioned. Also IMO.... if a Puppy isn’t mouthing and chewing on everything there is something wrong. Unfortunately this can become an issue if there are young kids in the house. A puppy has sharp teeth...it’s not a good thing for the puppy to get use to mouthing and chewing on human appendages. A sharp “no” and a tap on the nose when they start can typically end that routine for some puppies. We have spaniels and they generally get the idea pretty quick what’s acceptable, other harder dogs might need more aggressive “NO’s”. We fill the house with chew toys (Kong’s and other medium hard bone toys...chews that can’t be broken up and swallowed) so there is always something for the puppy to chew on and are diligent about not leaving anything like shoes or slippers or anything we want intact out and about. If being crate trained you can usually avoid any destroyed furniture and the like. Have fun!