Dog going blind

VizslavsBird

I have a spainiel that is going blind.  Appears to be a genetic thing, Progressive Retinal Atrophy.  Any of you folks ever have a dog go blind at a young age?  What kind of adjustments in everyday life did you make to help them along?

This 5 year old has the sweetest personality and will be with me a long time.  Just need to do the best I can for him.  He has started bumping into things in the last couple of weeks, so what little sight he has is short term.

Brad Eden

That’s tough. Most all my dogs developed cloudy eyes with age but never fully blind. I have no experience with this so hopefully some UJers will pop in with some experience and advice. Best of luck to you and the Springer.

VizslavsBird

Thanks.

Lol, not a spaniels are Springers.  

WPG Gizmo

Here is some info I found 

How to Help a Blind Dog Adapt

Here are six tips from experts on how to make a few changes to enhance your vision-challenged dog's life and help him lead a normal life:

Blind Dog-Proof Your House. ...

Don't Rearrange Your Furniture. ...

Change the Way You Communicate. ...

Tune In To Their Other Senses. ...

Re-Train Your Dog. ...

Play Games.

They also make a halo that the dog can wear kind of a vest with a wire rod attached that lets the dog know when it is close to something it can hit.

I have also heard of having another dog can help the blind one get around 

My girl Maggie went blind from progressive retinal atrophy at 6 1/2. I’m sorry for you and your dog. Your dog losing the ability to hunt, in its prime , is brutal.

I hunted Maggie a couple of times after she went blind and it seemed fine at first . Then because she kept her eyes open and couldn’t avoid obstacles she scratched one of her eyes. She couldn't avoid trees, bushes or ravines.  Hunting was done.