Recurve, Compound or Crossbow and Why?

Zkight89

The boys have gotten into archery hard. Shooting in the backyard several times a week.  In order to spend time together, I’m thinking of getting myself a bow and weighing the options.

I’ve hunted with a compound in the past and never got very excited about it. I prefer to hunt deer from the ground and a compound never worked well for that use. Could find a set up left hander for a decent price. Would work well for shooting with the boys.

My Wife hunts with a recurve style crossbow and I’ve shot it some. I like the platform for hunting though it isn’t that much fun to target shoot with. Prices and styles are all over the place with them....

I have no experience with traditional archery, but the cheaper costs, portability ( take down) and simplicity appeal to me. Would definitely be fun to shoot in the yard though much harder to hunt with. 

What say you UJ big game hunters? Which is your favorite and why? Equipment suggestions encouraged...

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• bobman

• Spiller

• Brad Eden

• garyRI

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

FWIW, I prescribe to the "Uncle Ted Methodology" of using low weight bows and aiming small and missing small.     In Maine the minimum legal weight for a hunting bow is 35 pounds and my trad

Here’s my approach to practice with heavy ( for me ) traditional bows   first thing to recognize is being exceptional at traditional shooting with no sights require a lot of focus  

Posted Images

gundogpa

I do both.

Cheap bow to shoot with the family in the back yard. I shoot a recurve with no sights and just have fun with it. Getting the kids some archery skill is always a good thing and fun. If they are decked out and I'm shooting bare bow and I outshoot them its bragging rights. LOL